Director Board

Jonathan Alles – CHAIRMAN

Jonathan Alles was appointed as Managing Director and Chief Executive Office of HNB PLC in July 2013.

He holds a MBA from the University of Stirling, Scotland and he is also a member of the Chartered Institute of Bankers, Sri Lanka. He has many years of banking experience having served in Sri Lanka and overseas. He worked at HNB from 2002 to 2005 prior to moving on to the UAE. Having returned to Sri Lanka from the UAE in September 2010, Mr Alles re-joined HNB in the capacity of the Chief Operating Officer.

Mr Alles is a member of Sri Lanka Institute of Directors and also serves as a member of the Advisory Committee of Sri Lanka Business & Biodiversity Platform.


Ray is the Managing Director/Group CEO of ACUITY, which has subsidiaries involved in, Stock Broking, Fixed Income Securities, Corporate Finance, Venture Capital Financing & Asset Management. Prior to being appointed as Group CEO in 2009, Ray served as the CEO/MD of Acuity Stockbrokers (Pvt) Ltd, from 2001 to end 2008. In his last year as CEO/MD, Acuity Stockbrokers emerged as the No 1 stock broking firm in Sri Lanka. From 1998 to 2000, Ray functioned as the Managing Director of Forbes ABN Amro Securities. Ray has been associated with the capital markets of Sri Lanka for over 30 years, primarily as a stockbroker & since 2009 as an investment banker. He is the Chairman of Acuity Stockbrokers (Pvt) Ltd & Acuity Securities Ltd and serves on the Boards of Acuity Partners (Pvt) Ltd, Lanka Ventures PLC, LVL Energy Fund Ltd,  Soft Logic Life Insurance PLC,  Guardian Acuity Asset Management, and The Central Depository Systems (Pvt) Ltd. Ray currently holds the position of Chairman of the  Colombo Stock Exchange.  He is a past Chairman of the Colombo Stock Brokers Association.

Ray is a member of the Chartered Institute of Marketing (UK) & has an MBA from the University of Wales, UK.

Deva Ellepola – Executive Director & Deputy Chairman Acuity Stockbrokers

Deva is the Executive Deputy Chairman of Acuity Stockbrokers (Pvt) Ltd and Executive Director of Acuity Partners (Pvt) Ltd. Prior to the formation of ACUITY he was the Managing Director/CEO of HNB Stockbrokers (Pvt) Ltd, from 2001-2009. Deva functioned as the General Manager–Broking of JP Morgan HNB Securities (Pvt) Ltd from 2000-2001 and was the Deputy General Manager at Jardine Fleming HNB Securities (Pvt) Ltd, from 1995-2000. He also functioned as the Deputy General Manager of HDF Securities (Pvt) Ltd from 1993-1996. Deva started his career at Bartleet Mallory Stock Brokers (Pvt) Ltd in 1983.

He has vast experience in the Sri Lankan Stock Broking industry spanning to nearly 3 decades. He is a past Chairman of the Colombo Stock Brokers Association (CSBA) and has served as a Member of all the important Sub Committees of the CSE.

He has participated in numerous foreign road shows and international conferences and related training programs on capital markets both in Sri Lanka and abroad. He holds a Diploma in Marketing Management from the National Institute of Business Management (NIBM) & the Professional Stock Broking Certificate issued by the Securities Institute of Australia.


Mr. Silva is the Deputy Chief Executive of DFCC Bank PLC. He was the Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of DFCC Vardhana Bank PLC during the period January 2010 to September 2015. Mr. Silva started his professional career with the Department of Inland Revenue of Sri Lanka and joined the DFCC Banking Group in 1987. He was seconded to the service of DFCC Vardhana Bank in 2003 from DFCC Bank and functioned as the Chief Operating Officer of DFCC Vardhana Bank from the year 2003 until his appointment as the Chief Executive Officer in January 2010.He is a Director of Synapsys Limited and Lanka Financial Services Bureau Limited and also a Past President of the Association of Professional Bankers of Sri Lanka.Mr. Silva holds a Bachelor of Commerce special degree from the University of Kelaniya and a Master of Business Administration from the Postgraduate Institute of Management of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.

Rajive Dissanayake

Rajive is the Chief Strategy Officer of Hatton National Bank PLC.

He counts for over 15 years of experience in banking and capital markets. His exposure covers relationship management, project finance, capital markets research, financial analysis, economic analysis, investments, budgeting, investor relations, asset & liability management and strategic planning.

Rajive holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration from the University of Colombo. He is also a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (UK), Chartered Global Management Accountant and a CFA® Charter holder.